How long will it take? 4-6 weeks by mail. Right away if you apply in person.
Step by Step Process:
Note: These instructions are for people born in Minnesota. If you were born in another state, go to https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w/index.htm to find instructions for the state you were born in. If you were born in another country, contact an embassy or consulate of your country for information.
Under Birth Certificates and Records click on Birth Certificates
Under Where do I get a birth certificate? find For service by mail, fax or email section
Click on Birth Certificate Application
You can also call (651) 201-5980 to have an application mailed to you.
Fill out the application form. Do not sign it until you go to a notary. Your application won't be processed unless it is signed in front of a notary. You can find a notary at your local courthouse, the department of motor vehicles and banks. Some schools have notaries too. You MUST bring along a photo ID when getting documents notarized. There may be a fee, but it should not be more than $5.00.
Mail the completed form, with your $26.00 payment. You can pay with a check or money order made payable to “Minnesota Department of Health” or fill out your credit card information on the form.
Mail it to:
Minnesota Department of Health
Central Cashiering- Vital Records
P.O. Box 64499
St. Paul, MN 55164-0499
OR fax the completed application form to (651) 201-5740. If you fax the form you have to pay with a credit card.
If you apply in person, you can get the form there, fill it out and hand it in. Most registrar offices can notarize your application for you, and you can often get a certified copy of your birth certificate the same day.
Frequently Asked Questions
How old do I have to be to get a copy of my birth certificate?
If you are over 16 you can get a copy of your own birth certificate. If you are younger than 16, you can get a copy of your birth certificate if the record is not confidential. If you have questions about confidential birth certificates, call the Youth Law Project of Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid at (612) 332-1441.
What if I am adopted?
You can get a copy of your adoption certificate. If you want a copy of your original birth certificate you must be at least 19 years old. Even then, your birth parents have the right to keep their names and other information confidential.
Call the Department of Health at (651) 201-5980 for more information.
What you need: You have to prove age and identity. The best proof is an ID that has a photo of you AND your date of birth. If you don’t have that you need 2 Forms of ID- one showing your date of birth and one with a photo or a physical description. The social security card is free.
If you were not born in the U.S., but you are a U.S. citizen, you need to show documents that prove identity and U.S. citizenship (if your citizenship has not been established).
To prove citizenship status, you need:
U.S. Passport or Certificate of Citizenship
Certification of Report of Birth
Consular Report of Birth Abroad
To prove identity, you need:
School ID Card with name and photo
Other school records maintained by the school
Certified copy of medical records
If you were not born in the U.S. and are not a U.S. citizen, you need to show documents that prove your immigration status and identity.